State issued emergency orders

Office of Insurance Regulation's Emergency Order -- 9/13/2017

Hurricane Irma -- 17-235/September 4, 2017

From the Florida Office of Insurance Regulations:
"At the Direction of Governor Scott, Insurance Commissioner David Altmaier issued an Emergency Order suspending and activating certain insurance rules and statutes for the health, safety, and welfare of Florida's policyholders. Among other provisions, the Order provides an additional 90 days to policyholders to supply information to their insurance company; prohibits insurance companies from canceling or non-renewing policies covering residential properties damaged by the hurricane for at least 90 days; and freezes any and all efforts to increase rates on policyholders for 90 days. The Order can be found here.
Please contact the Office of Insurance Regulation, Communications Office at or 850-413-2515 if you have any questions."

Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (FLOIR) hurricane resource page

Illinois Department of Insurance (July 17, 2017)

Illinois Disaster Declaration Guidelines

Effective July 17, 2017 Governor Bruce Rauner declared Cook, Kane, Lake and McHenry counties state disaster areas.

To help provide safeguards for consumers and to ensure that those affected by this disaster do not suffer unnecessary hardship, the following guidelines will be followed for affected insurance policies issued by Markel Corp.’s subsidiaries and affiliates:

  • Cancellations or nonrenewal notifications issued between July 12, 2017 and September 30, 2017 are hereby withdrawn, and any coverage impacted by such notices is reinstated without any lapse. Newly issued cancellation and non-renewal notices for impacted policyholders will be withheld until September 30, 2017.

  • A minimum 60 day extension (from the last date allowed) will be granted to affected policyholders for any policy provisions or other requirements that impose a time limit for an insured or claimant to perform any act.

  • Late fees and installment fees will be waived during this period.

Consumers may contact the Illinois Department of Insurance if they wish to file a complaint regarding any disaster-related dispute or issue.

Complaints may be filed by calling the Department’s toll-free complaint hotline at 1-866-445-5364 or submitting a complaint online at:

As a result of severe storms and flooding, Indiana has issued a 60 day policy cancellation moratorium in Bulletin 241.   “The moratorium applies only to cancellations/non-renewals attributed to a failure to pay premiums directly as a result of the Disaster Events during the 60-day period. If a policy is to be cancelled or non-renewed for any other allowable reason, the cancellation or non-renewal may be made pursuant to the statutory notice requirements. However, the Department would request insurance companies take into consideration that persons in the heavily Impacted Areas may be unable to receive notice of cancellation or non-renewal due to evacuation or delayed postal service in that area.”
This moratorium will last 60 days, and the Department may request an extension of this moratorium if an extension is deemed appropriate. This moratorium will take effect March 2, 2018. The Department expects insurers to apply this moratorium retroactively to the day before the Disaster Events occurred in each Impacted Area.
Affected Lines of Business: All Lines (including Surplus Lines)
Impacted policyholders are located in: Benton, Carroll, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Elkhart, Floyd, Fulton, Harrison, Jasper, Jefferson, Lake, Marshall, Ohio, Perry, Pulaski, Spencer, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland, Warrick, And White.

May 23, 2018: As a result of heavy rains, Maryland issued Bulletin 18-07 which encourages insurance companies to provide reasonable accommodations, including a grace period for premium payment, to insureds in the affected areas.
Affected Lines of Business:    All Lines (including Surplus Lines)
Impacted policyholders are located in:  Frederick and Washington (Zip Codes 21701; 21702; 21703; 21704; 21715; 21718; 21755; 21756; 21758; 21769; 21779; 21782; 21793 and 21770)

May 31, 2018: Maryland has issued Bulletin 18-09 to expand the area affected by flooding (Zip codes 21041, 21042, 21043, 21045, 21228, 21229)

As a result of severe storms and heavy rains, Ohio issued Bulletin 2018-01 which requests insurance companies to defer premium payments for affected policyholders. “All insurance companies … are to give their insureds affected by this disaster the option of deferring premium payments coming due, interest free, for up to 60 calendar days from the original premium due date.” Additionally consideration is to be provided to extend any time limitations within policy provisions for 60 days. This is effective March 7, 2018 and will expire May 24, 2018.

Affected Lines of Business: All Lines (including Surplus Lines)

Impacted policyholders are located in: Columbiana, Jefferson, Belmont, Monroe, Washington, Athens, Meigs, Gallia, Lawrence, Scioto, Adams, Brown, Clermont, Hamilton, Hocking, Jackson, and Muskingum Counties, and any other counties that subsequently declare an emergency.